Music GET!

6 06 2011

Sparing feeble ‘it’s been so long’ excuses again, I’ll just jump straight into my post. The last month has been one mostly spent at home without incident (an extremely rare occurance in perhaps the last 2+ years) so for those hoping to live vicariously through me, I must disappoint. But I do offer music instead (arguably a better gift), with a brief explanation of the random title. One of the English loan words that has made it into Japanese with its use skewed is the word ‘get’. While the meaning behind it is somewhat the same (to obtain) in some regards, in others, like scoring a goal it leaves me befuddled. The fact that ‘get’ (ゲット) never changes tense also on occasion causes me to snigger to myself when it is used in nation wide ad campaigns and on others lament the bastardisation of the English language and the uphill challenge of English educators. Anyway, here are a couple random songs that have been getting airplay in my aparto over the past few weeks and months…

Station by Hekireki

 

逆光 (Backlight?) by Brahman

 

Free Fall by The Band Apart

 

And for those who are interested, here is the monthly Japanese chart for May 2011. Number 1 is from the usual suspects… (trust me when I say I’m not giving anything away!)

 

Until next time! バイバイ!


Actions

Information

One response

6 06 2011
Music GET! « How Far Do You Wanna Go? | TEFL Japan

[…] Link: Music GET! « How Far Do You Wanna Go? […]

Leave a comment